Share this news
And I think it’s gonna be a long, long time
Posted by editor

Elton and friends in 20th anniversary AIDS benefit show

Thursday 13
December 2001 @ 22:53

Billed The Concert – Twenty Years with AIDS and held at Universal Amphitheater, Los Angeles, on December 12, 2001, Elton John commandeered Sting and Bon Jovi, Craig David, LeeAnn Rimes, Pete Yorn, Alicia Keys, Rufus Wainwright, Richie Sambora and Matchbox Twenty.

Dreamworks collaborator Jeffery Katzenburg (The Road to El Dorado) introduced Elton John. Others to make an appearance included actress Elizabeth Taylor. Elton praised her for pioneering Hollywood’s support of AIDS patients in the early 1980s.

The complete set list of Elton’s contribution to the show:

  1. Philadelphia Freedom
  2. Bennie And The Jets
  3. Ballad Of The Boy In The Red Shoes
  4. The Wasteland
  5. Rocket Man
  6. I Want Love
  7. Take Me To The Pilot
  8. American Triangle (with Rufus Wainwright)
  9. Levon (with Jon Bon Jovi and Ritchie Sambora)
  10. The Bitch is Back (with Bon Jovi and Sambora)

Text in songlist marked red denotes a change of acts or collaborations.