Print

Elton and Rina Join Forces

Written by Chief Editor.

Rina Sawayama has announced the forthcoming release of a new version of her song, Chosen Family, in which Elton sings and plays piano.

 
The track was originally part of the artist's debut album, which came out last April. The new rendition will be released on Wednesday, with the track set to premiere on Zane Lowe's Beats1 show at noon ET (5 p.m. UK time), to be followed by a video premiere on YouTube at 1 p.m. ET; 6 p.m. in the UK.
 
The 30-year-old said: ''It was such a joy and honour to rework Chosen Family with the legendary Elton John. The song means so much to both of us and recording it together was such a special experience I will never forget. I got shivers when I heard his voice through the monitor and became emotional when he added the piano parts.
 
''Elton has been such a huge supporter from before the album, and when we finally met to record this song, we clicked from the get go. I hope people can hear the magic!''
 
Elton remarked that he was 'blown away'' when he first heard Rina and that Chosen Family is a special number.
 
''It was a huge honour and genuine thrill to be asked to duet with Rina and rework the song. I hope you enjoy the track as much as I enjoyed the experience of making it.''
 
Coloured by Sawayama's experiences as a pansexual woman, Chosen Family is addressed to members of the LGBTQ+ community who have found a family in each other after being disowned by their own kin.
 
In related developments, Rina's Facebook page has a couple of shots of her with Elton. This includes the  T magazine cover, shot by Harley Weir, on newsstands this weekend.
Share this News