Share this news
Samples From Star-Studded Show Will Be Released This Fall
Posted by editor_usa

Thursday 14
July 2011 @ 16:17

T Bone Burnett Presents: The Speaking Clock Revue, an album showcasing 11 performances from a benefit concert at New York’s Beacon Theatre that the producer orchestrated last year, will be out on October  18.

Proceeds from the Shout! Factory release, as with the live event, benefit The Participant Foundation, supporting  the inclusion of music and arts education in public school systems.

In October 2010, Burnett organised a group of musicians, dubbed The Speaking Clock Revue, and joined with Participant Media for concerts benefiting arts education. The lineup included Elton, Elvis Costello, Leon Russell, John Mellencamp, and Jeff Bridges. The Speaking Clock Revue featured a house band made up of musicians from many Burnett-produced recordings and led by music director and guitarist Marc Ribot.

T Bone was inspired to do the fundraisers after attending an early screening of Participant’s documentary Waiting for Superman, from filmmaker Davis Guggenheim, which focused on the troubled state of public education in the U.S.

The producer, well-known for his support of the roots and American music traditions, had collaborated previously with many of the performers on The Speaking Clock Revue.

“The privacy and the intimacy of the studio afford artists the freedom to create,” Burnett said, “but something thrilling happens in getting away from the machines and into the live communication of real-time storytelling in the larger community. The first tour I went on, my first job in show business, was on The Rolling Thunder Revue, and I’ve come back to that type of collaborative and extraordinarily rewarding experience from time to time.”

Tracks are:

1. Jimmie Standing In The Rain – Elvis Costello

2. Midnight Rider – Gregg Allman

3. Hold On, Hold On – Neko Case

4. Rye Whiskey – Punch Brothers

5. Wonderful (The Way I Feel) – Jim James

6. The Truth Is In The Dirt – Karen Elson

7. The One I Love Is Gone – The Secret Sisters

8. Troubled Land – John Mellencamp

9. Lift Him Up That’s All – Ralph Stanley

10. Fallin’ & Flyin’ – Jeff Bridges

11. Monkey Suit – Elton & Leon